Delhi Metro Timings updated on 18-Feb-2015

Route BetweenSource & Destination Stations


delhi metro timings

delhi metro timings - Trains between different stations in delhi metro network including the interchanging stations and First and last train timings at your metro station. Once you select from and to stations, you will be shown the route stations along with time, distance and number of interchanges. You will get clear picture to catch the train moving towards which direction to reach your destination.

Delhi metro has been started mainly to avoid road traffic congestion, long waiting’s at bus stations, pollution, overcrowding in the capital city. A metro system serving Delhi, Noida, Gurgaon and Ghaziabad and is the world’s thirteenth largest metro system in terms of length and is India’s second transportation system after Kolkata Metro. Construction work of Delhi metro started in 1998 but got delayed due to bad experiences with Kolkata Metro. Later on, the work has been handed over to DMRC (Delhi Metro Rail Corporation) and the construction operations went smoothly with inauguration of first line in 2002.

Delhi Metro network consisting of six lines (Red, Yellow, Blue, Green, Violet and Orange) serving different areas with a total length of 190 km with 142 stations of which 35 are underground.

  • Red Line is between Dilshad Garden to Rithala covering a distance of 25km with 21 stations
  • Yellow Line between Jahangirpuri to HUDA city centre covering a distance of 45km with 35 stations
  • Blue Line between Dwarka sec −21 to Vaishali/ NOIDA city centre covering a distance of 58km with 50 stations
  • Green Line between Inderlok to Mundka covering a distance of 19 km with 14 stations and
  • Violet Line between Central Secretariat to Badarpur covering a distance of 23km with 18 stations
  • Orange (Airport Express Line) between New Delhi and Dwarka Sector 21 covering a distance of 22km with 6 stations.

The project is being built in four different phases.

Phase-I: construction started with 65km of metro line route out of which 13km is an underground line and 52km is a surface line and was finished in 2006 with almost 3 years ahead of schedule.

Phase-2: network completed with 128 km of route length and 79 stations with first line opened in 2008 and last line in 2011.

Phase-3: network planned to be completed by 2015 with 112km route length.

Phase-4: network planned to be completed by 2021 with 109 km route length.